Celebrate — and Visit — the Balsam Lake Mt. Fire Tower!

This year marks the 125th anniversary of Balsam Lake Mountain Fire Tower in the Catskills — the first fire tower in New York State. Come celebrate at the awesome fire tower itself, or the Catskill Center for Conservation and Development in Arkville for an opportunity to “Meet the Authors” as part of the Central Catskills Great Outdoor Experience Festival.

Join a group hike this Sunday (Aug. 26) from the Millbrook Road trailhead at 8:30 a.m. up to the summit tower, where you’ll chat with authors Marty Podskoch (“Fire Towers of the Catskills,” “Adirondack Fire Towers,” “Adirondack Civilian Conservation Corps Camps”), Dave and Carol White (“Catskill Day Hikes,” “Catskill Peak Experiences,” “Women with Altitude”) and Diane Galusha (“Another Day, Another Dollar: The Civilian Conservation Corps in the Catskills,” “Liquid Assets: The Story of New York City’s Water System”).

To get to this trailhead — the highest in the Catskills, at 2,580 feet —  from Kingston, proceed along Rt. 28 west to the Hamlet of Arkville, which is east of Margaretville and west of Fleischmanns. Turn south on Dry Brook Road, which becomes Ulster County Route 49. Go about 5 miles, then make a sharp right turn onto Mill Brook Road. The parking area is on the right, and the trailhead is across the road.

Interested in the fire tower, but not up for a hike? The authors will also be at the Catskill Center for Conservation and Development office in Arkville from 3 p.m. until 5 p.m. on Sunday. Jeff Senterman, Catskill Region Program Coordinator for the New York New Jersey Trail Conference, will host the event and will provide information on the Conference’s stewardship efforts in the Catskills. There will be light refreshments and books available for purchase. For additional information, contact Laurie Rankin at laurierankin@hvc.rr.com.

Beware of New Computer Scam!

Below i have pasted an email from my smart, sweet brother-in-law who is expert in all things computer-related. It is about a scam that almost fooled HIM, so everyone should watch out for it! Check out his message below:

I  just received a call from someone with an accent from India saying that  my computer was sending Microsoft errors to their server. After  avoiding answers to their questions I remained aloof but concerned that  my computer was really sending erroneous error messages to someone’s  server.
The “representative” claimed he was an administrator of the IT network department for the company,
Global PC Helpline,   •  1-800-986-4764

I  do not know if this is a legit company or if it was a legit call from  the company. The caller had correctly identified two pieces of  information about me which was the ‘CLSID’ of my laptop and my cell  phone number. It bothered me that he had what seemed to be a unique  identification number of my laptop.
However,  this CLSID is on most recent versions of Windows. So you have this same  ID number as I do and as most all computers will show,
ZFSendToTarget= CLSID\{888DCA60-FC0A-11CF-8F0F-00C04FD7D062} explained here:

but  it seems as though the caller wants you to think they are really  getting error messages from you and wants you to think they can see  unique information from your computer. The reason they do this is to ask  you if they can enable a remote session on your computer. If you go  that far then you have left yourself open to all types of issues  including identity theft, not to mention losing other personal info and  introducing viruses.


I  was most impressed with the slight subtlety and slight authoritative  tone but one other obvious flag was the difficulty I had understanding  the person trying to explain what was wrong and how he needed to fix the  problem by gaining remote access to my computer. 
 Read more at: 



ps-I have since received a second call from a woman representative.